[CC 1.481][MC 1.4.7] BowTurtles - If melee is not enought

11 replies to this topic

#1 mentlerd

• Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:31 PM

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting a mod, so please be kind.

This mod adds turtles, with bows! It is a peripheral, instead a tool, but it has its reasons. It can be crafted just like the melee turtle, but with a bow.

The API itself is quite simple, there is only a single method:
bow = peripheral.wrap( side )

bow.shoot( [power], [deltaX], [deltaY] )

The power is a number from 0 - 1, where 1 equals a fully pulled shot from a player. DeltaX and deltaY give offset to the shot, so you could shoot sideways. ( In a limited cone of 45 degrees )
The parameters are optional, and will default to 1, 0, 0.

In order to use the peripheral, you must provide a bow in the selected slot. The turtle will use this bow to fire, and take its enchantments to account.

Downloads:
- Version 1.0.0
- Version 1.1.0

Screenshot:
Spoiler

The mod alone does not do a lot of things, but combined with OpenCCSensors it is very powerful!

Since this is my first mod, I am open to any suggestions!

Changelog:
Spoiler

#2 Xavura

• Members
  • 13 posts
  • LocationEngland, UK

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:34 PM

Awesome! Downloading. :D

Will edit post later.

#3 NeverCast

• Members
  • 400 posts
  • LocationChristchurch, New Zealand

Posted 31 January 2013 - 12:50 PM

Woah! This is gonna be SWEEET!!

Sentry Turtles, Heck yeah!

#4 Bubba

Use Code Tags!

• Moderators
  • 1,142 posts
  • LocationRHIT

Posted 31 January 2013 - 01:01 PM

I think that although this a simple idea, this is one of the neatest things I've seen in a while. As you say, combined with OpenCCSensors I could easily create an infallible defense system. Even better, In combination with a GPS server and some player sensors, I could turn it into a bot which follows the player around and defends them.

#5 Dlcruz129

What's a Lua?

• Members
  • 1,423 posts