Help with OpenCCSensors

10 replies to this topic

#1 dexter9

• Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 05:55 AM

Hi im trying to make a smart turtle killing program. I need to get the sensors to report the players co-ords and i want the computer to print it too.
Thanks in advance

#2 Lyqyd

Lua Liquidator

• Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 07:39 AM

Try using sensorview to examine the detailed output for the player target. This will tell you which table(s) you need to index. Then simply iterate through the targets returned by getTargets, determine which are players and which are not, and use getTargetDetails on the appropriate targets to fetch their details table (which you then index to get the position values).

#3 dexter9

• Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 07:41 AM

sorry how would that be as lua code? or how would i type it in. sorry im new to openccsensors..

#4 Lyqyd

Lua Liquidator

• Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 07:52 AM

I don't exactly remember where in the tables all of this info actually is, so this code almost certainly won't work out of the box, but it should get you pointed in the right direction:

os.loadAPI("ocs/apis/sensor")
local proxSense = sensor.wrap("left")
for target in pairs(proxSense.getTargets()) do
  local detailedInfo = proxSense.getTargetDetails(target)
  if detailedInfo.whateverTellsUsItIsAPlayer == "player" then --you will need to look around and find whatever distinguishes players and non-players in the output.
    rednet.broadcast("Player! "..detailedInfo.name.." @ "..detailedInfo.Position.X..", "..detailedInfo.Position.Y..", "..detailedInfo.Position.Z)
  end
end

I don't know what the rest of your code looks like, so that's about all I have for you at this point. The rest should be fairly simple. :)

#5 dexter9

• Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 20 April 2013 - 08:03 AM