4 replies to this topic

#1 Vattic

• Members
  • 3 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 17 May 2013 - 10:04 PM

The acctual error message:
main2:254: vm error: java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 256

I've not had much experience with CC before now and I'm a hobbiest programmer at best. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Would anyone mind having a look for me? I know it's a bit messy in places and that there is a fair bit of it, but I'd really appreciate some help.

Lines 254 - 256 are in the checkIfFull() function which is supposed to loop through all the inventory slots that aren't being used for identifying unwanted blocks (dirt, stone, sand, gravel) and tell if they contain items. If they all do it'll place an ender chest and deposit them.

The Code:
Spoiler

Cheers,

#2 Lyqyd

Lua Liquidator

• Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 12:37 AM

Split into new topic.

#3 tesla1889

• Members
  • 351 posts
  • LocationSt. Petersburg

Posted 18 May 2013 - 01:32 AM

idk if you still care about this, but this could have to do with the number of global variables you are declaring. because this isn't an API file, i suggest trying it with local functions. anything to cut down on stack usage is a good thing in this case

in case you're wondering, when lua defines a new function, it pushes a string and a function to the stack before setting the string as an index in the environment to the function, sort of like this:

.const 'checkIfFull'
.function
; define checkIfFull function
.end
push 0 ; push the first constant to the stack
push 1 ; push the function to the stack
setglobal 1 0 ; set the function as a global

if you get a whole bunch of functions, the stack can get really big

#4 BigSHinyToys

• Members
  • 1,001 posts

Posted 18 May 2013 - 03:28 AM