[Php/lua] Best Way To Hash Passwords.

10 replies to this topic

#1 Mitchfizz05

• Members
  • 125 posts
  • LocationAdelaide, Australia

Posted 26 July 2013 - 10:30 AM

I know this isn't completely ComputerCraft, but it is related to a ComputerCraft project - and I know that there are many people on these forums that are quite knowledgeable about PHP password hashing, and security.

I want to know what the best way is to secure passwords.
Currently I md5 the password, then hash it with sha256, it that good enough? Would YOU sign up for something with that sort of security.

Thanks, Mitchfizz05.

#2 Zudo

• Members
  • 800 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 26 July 2013 - 10:42 AM

Sounds pretty good to me, but I am a noob too :)

#3 Thib0704

• Members
  • 93 posts
  • LocationgetServer().getPlayer("Thib0704").getLocation();

Posted 26 July 2013 - 11:11 AM

Hi,
TheOriginalBit Suggested me to use This
$salt = hash("sha256",mcrypt_create_iv(64));

// and then encrypt the password

$encrypted = hash("sha256", $inputPass . $salt)

If you need the hole script here it is :
<?php
		// make sure we can redirect (this was just a nice little function that made redirects nicer to user over and over)
		// for your case you would most likely use die("why it died") so that the browser gets the error, and computercraft gets the error message
		// so that you can tell your user why the registration failed
		// NOTE: the scripts at the other end are designed to receive a GET, which is why the redirects are formatted in the way they are (plus its easier to do GET than POST from PHP)
		require_once($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . "eta/functions/redirect.php");
		if (!isset($_POST['rpass'])){ redirect('index.php?e'); }
		// The salt is just a bunch of random data to help further hide the hashed password and make it harder to do a lookup on the hashed password
		// each user has a different salt so that even two passwords if the same, have different hashed values