Startup not working correctly

13 replies to this topic

#1 Arimus

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 12 August 2013 - 07:34 AM

Hi there,

So I am really new to computercraft (and programming in general to be honest) but I am noticing something strange. I have implemented a couple of APIs in my program and everythings runs great. For instance, I am setting a number of colored wires to true when the program runs. If I start the program the wires in question are enabled. However, if I edit "startup" of my computer add my program and reboot, the colored wires are not "turned on". What is the difference between running the program manually and running it from startup?

I need this to work because the server I play on restarts every couple of hours due to performance issues.

Many thanks!

#2 CometWolf

• Members
  • 1,283 posts

Posted 12 August 2013 - 08:39 AM

Any chance you could post your program and/or the startup file? Usually when you want to execute a program at startup you simply rename your program to startup. Another option is using a startup file with the following code
shell.run"filename"

#3 Arimus

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 12 August 2013 - 09:29 AM

Here is a link to my program. Please don't laugh :P I am pretty sure a lot of things could be done more efficiently:

http://pastebin.com/JrFCEK5U (my program)
http://pastebin.com/BYEsjxvd (implemented API for bundled cable)
http://pastebin.com/S3WmbP1g (implemented API for buttons)

In my program you can see that I set the state of the colored wires at the start. This doesn't seem to happen if I launch my program using shell.run("main") from startup.

Thanks!

#4 campicus

• Members
  • 164 posts

Posted 12 August 2013 - 12:12 PM

Is your program called "main" or "mainControl"?

#5 Arimus

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 12 August 2013 - 12:29 PM

sorry, I changed it half way through. Its called "main" now. I got lazy :) I updated pastebin

#6 Kilobyte

• Members
  • 122 posts