Opinion on OpenComputers?

93 replies to this topic

#81 OmegaPaladin

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 August 2014 - 08:41 AM

I wanted to share a bit of an outsider's perspective. I'm not a coder, and I would normally never bother with learning a programing language in a videogame. When I saw computercraft in a modpack, I dismissed it as irrelevant to my game. Then I saw how cheap they were to build, and started playing around with them...

Several programs and several months later, I'm still not very good at lua, but I understand a lot more about than I ever would have done normally.

Something like OpenComputers would have never even remotely interested me. ComputerCraft being cheap is a hook that can attract people like me

#82 TheKickstart

• Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 16 November 2014 - 11:52 AM

Well, I Perfer CC Because The Computers Are Not Expensive, And It is Easy To Code.
Comparision :

Computercraft | OpenComputers
----------------------------------------------------|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Easy To Craft | Does Not Have An OS By Deafult To Make It Easy To Make Install My Own OS
1 Block To Use A PC , No Assembling | Temporary Files
Starts In A Flash | Gives Me Tips About The Mod
Easy To Use Redstone With | Can Project Holograms
Easy To Use Preinstalled OS | Screens And PC Cases Can Be Coloured
No Need For A Keyboard | Can Mix Screens By Changing Graphics Cards

Thats All I Can Say

#83 MrObsidy

• Members
  • 63 posts
  • LocationHesse, Germany

Posted 17 April 2017 - 02:49 PM

While this is a old topic, I think it adresses a core problem of both CC and OC:
Noone uses it.
Now don't get me wrong, but the thing with CC and OC is that the majority of the community(ies) are coders themselves, meaning we
just code for each other and everyone just tries to use their own software anyways. What I mean by that is that we (the community) try to develop