Thaumcraft Research Helper

8 replies to this topic

#1 Oose

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:51 PM

This is an application I made to make using the Thaumcraft mod a bit easier. I'm not very good at remembering the aspects of magic in Thaumcraft so this application helps to make it a bit easier.

The graphical application lists out aspects of magic, with their descriptions and their recipes. The application requires an advanced computer. It's ordered alphabetically and colour coded. It shows it's own recipe, as well as the recipes of it's components. The aspects are programmed in using a form, so it doesn't spoil your Thaumcraft experience. It's also convenient in case any more aspects are added to the mod, and you discover them. You can place a monitor on top of the computer and it'll display the recipe on the monitor. I've only tried it with 2 width, 1 height monitors. It's programmed in as top of the computer but you can change it by editing the side near the top of the code.

The form is pretty simple and was built after most of the main tool was complete. The directories of the aspect files are hardcoded, but it's written as the first lines of code in both application if you want to change them. The description of the aspect is optional. It can take a few minutes to program in all the aspects, but I didn't want the file to be static for everyone. The fun of Thaumcraft is discovering new things and I wouldn't want to ruin that. Colours of the theme are also in the application file, near the top of the code if you want to change it to match your own data.

Downloads on pastebin:
Thaumcraft Research Helper
http://pastebin.com/YBtPWJ5g
Aspect Entry Form
http://pastebin.com/dfULH8xZ

To use the programs:
Create a directory "thaumhelper" in the computer root.
Create directories "recipes" and "descriptions" in the "thaumhelper" directory.
Put the two applications anywhere on the computer to run them.