Jump to content




Issues with floppy disks

media peripheral utility

26 replies to this topic

#1 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 22 March 2014 - 08:30 PM

sorry if this has been posted before..i spend ages browsing through the forums and couldn't find a solution

So i have my disk drive connected to my computer which is connected to a monitor

i save the following command under startup to boot when the computer is restarted for any reason
lets just use the disk program alongtimeago as an example

shell.run("monitor" ,(right),"alongtimeago")

when i execute the command by re-booting the computer it tells me there is no such program as alongtimeago even though the computer is connected to the disk drive so is able to read the floppy disk

i am new to computercraft so im probably missing an obvious mistake


using computercraft version 1.58 for minecraft 1.6.4



tah

#2 Lyqyd

    Lua Liquidator

  • Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 22 March 2014 - 08:51 PM

Might try:

shell.run("monitor right disk/alongtimeago")


#3 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 22 March 2014 - 09:45 PM

View PostLyqyd, on 22 March 2014 - 08:51 PM, said:

Might try:

shell.run("monitor right disk/alongtimeago")

it tells me

no such program disk/alongtimeago

#4 TheOddByte

    Lazy Coder

  • Members
  • 1,607 posts
  • LocationSweden

Posted 23 March 2014 - 12:05 AM

View Posttheclassycaptain, on 22 March 2014 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostLyqyd, on 22 March 2014 - 08:51 PM, said:

Might try:

shell.run("monitor right disk/alongtimeago")

it tells me

no such program disk/alongtimeago
Try
cd disk
ls
In the shell to see which programs you have on the disk

#5 oeed

    Oversimplifier

  • Members
  • 2,095 posts
  • LocationAuckland, New Zealand

Posted 23 March 2014 - 12:17 AM

View Posttheclassycaptain, on 22 March 2014 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostLyqyd, on 22 March 2014 - 08:51 PM, said:

Might try:

shell.run("monitor right disk/alongtimeago")

it tells me

no such program disk/alongtimeago

You could also try adding a slash before disk, so:
shell.run("monitor right /disk/alongtimeago")
Probably won't make a difference, but worth a shot.

#6 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 01:45 PM

View PostHellkid98, on 23 March 2014 - 12:05 AM, said:

View Posttheclassycaptain, on 22 March 2014 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostLyqyd, on 22 March 2014 - 08:51 PM, said:

Might try:

shell.run("monitor right disk/alongtimeago")

it tells me

no such program disk/alongtimeago
Try
cd disk
ls
In the shell to see which programs you have on the disk


it tells me it is not a directory



View Postoeed, on 23 March 2014 - 12:17 AM, said:

View Posttheclassycaptain, on 22 March 2014 - 09:45 PM, said:

View PostLyqyd, on 22 March 2014 - 08:51 PM, said:

Might try:

shell.run("monitor right disk/alongtimeago")

it tells me

no such program disk/alongtimeago

You could also try adding a slash before disk, so:
shell.run("monitor right /disk/alongtimeago")
Probably won't make a difference, but worth a shot.


nope nothing worked

#7 TheOddByte

    Lazy Coder

  • Members
  • 1,607 posts
  • LocationSweden

Posted 23 March 2014 - 01:58 PM

Hmm.. Make sure that the file alongtimeago actually exists on the disk, And if it does then you should post a screenshot to let us see how you have setup this. ( Monitor, disk drive & computer )

#8 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 02:05 PM

View PostHellkid98, on 23 March 2014 - 01:58 PM, said:

Hmm.. Make sure that the file alongtimeago actually exists on the disk, And if it does then you should post a screenshot to let us see how you have setup this. ( Monitor, disk drive & computer )

Posted Image

Posted Image

#9 theoriginalbit

    Semi-Professional ComputerCrafter

  • Moderators
  • 7,332 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 23 March 2014 - 02:07 PM

if you haven't found the disk legitimately, or grabbed it from the creative menu, then the disk will never work, treasure disks spawned in via means other than I just stated are not initialised properly.

#10 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 02:29 PM

View Posttheoriginalbit, on 23 March 2014 - 02:07 PM, said:

if you haven't found the disk legitimately, or grabbed it from the creative menu, then the disk will never work, treasure disks spawned in via means other than I just stated are not initialised properly.

its not just the treasure chest disk it is any disk i get from another player..disks i have copied programs on myself work but if i gt them from another player they dont

#11 Lyqyd

    Lua Liquidator

  • Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 06:43 PM

Is the other player getting them from the creative menu, or finding them legitimately?

#12 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 10:51 PM

View PostLyqyd, on 23 March 2014 - 06:43 PM, said:

Is the other player getting them from the creative menu, or finding them legitimately?

he is writing the programs himself and putting them on the floppy disk

i just used alongtimeago as an example

#13 Lyqyd

    Lua Liquidator

  • Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 11:40 PM

Wait, what? What are you actually having problems with? Is it the alongtimeago disk (that you probably spawned in, since you're "using it as an example"), or is it a disk that another player is giving you that has code that they wrote on it? We can't help you solve one thing in order to fix a completely different problem, you have to tell us what the actual problem is.

#14 Bomb Bloke

    Hobbyist Coder

  • Moderators
  • 7,099 posts
  • LocationTasmania (AU)

Posted 23 March 2014 - 11:40 PM

View Posttheclassycaptain, on 23 March 2014 - 01:45 PM, said:

View PostHellkid98, on 23 March 2014 - 12:05 AM, said:

Try
cd disk
ls
In the shell to see which programs you have on the disk

it tells me it is not a directory

Just try a straight-up "LS" - what does it display?

If it does NOT include the word "disk", then pickaxe the disk drive, re-place it, and put the disk back in.

#15 apemanzilla

  • Members
  • 1,421 posts

Posted 24 March 2014 - 12:48 PM

ID 4259 is a treasure disk by default. That is a treasure disk you have in the drive. Given the above information and the fact it is standard blue instead of a random color, I am fairly sure that disk is grabbed from creative or NEI, in which case it will not work.

Edited by Apemanzilla, 24 March 2014 - 12:48 PM.


#16 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 March 2014 - 01:17 PM

View PostApemanzilla, on 24 March 2014 - 12:48 PM, said:

ID 4259 is a treasure disk by default. That is a treasure disk you have in the drive. Given the above information and the fact it is standard blue instead of a random color, I am fairly sure that disk is grabbed from creative or NEI, in which case it will not work.

for that screenshot i did grab the disk from nei just for an example

View PostBomb Bloke, on 23 March 2014 - 11:40 PM, said:

View Posttheclassycaptain, on 23 March 2014 - 01:45 PM, said:

View PostHellkid98, on 23 March 2014 - 12:05 AM, said:

Try
cd disk
ls
In the shell to see which programs you have on the disk

it tells me it is not a directory

Just try a straight-up "LS" - what does it display?

If it does NOT include the word "disk", then pickaxe the disk drive, re-place it, and put the disk back in.

it is all there---it may be a problem with the server we'll reset the server and update everything

#17 Bomb Bloke

    Hobbyist Coder

  • Moderators
  • 7,099 posts
  • LocationTasmania (AU)

Posted 24 March 2014 - 01:21 PM

So going by that and your previous responses, you're saying that running "ls" shows you the disk as a directory, but "cd disk" tells you there's no such directory after all. Is this correct?

#18 apemanzilla

  • Members
  • 1,421 posts

Posted 24 March 2014 - 02:08 PM

Could you send us screenshots of the following please?
The setup
The disk itself (name, ID, color)
Running "ls" when using the NORMAL disk
If there is a "disk" repository, running "ls disk" and "cd disk"

Edited by Apemanzilla, 24 March 2014 - 02:08 PM.


#19 theclassycaptain

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 March 2014 - 07:37 PM

ok ok i seem to be confusing everyone especially Lyqyd

the isue is that me and my friend are having trouble sharing programs with each other on floppy diskd

forget everything about alongtimeago and treasure disk ids i know about them--i just used that as an example

we can copy our programs to a floppy disk and it all shows up on our own computer

the issue is whenever we try and boot the disk on another computer the computer refuses to acknowledge the disk being there. it detects the disk drive fine if we put a treasure chest disk (that we found in a dungeon) in the drive the computer boots that program fine

#20 Bomb Bloke

    Hobbyist Coder

  • Moderators
  • 7,099 posts
  • LocationTasmania (AU)

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:14 AM

Maybe things would be clearer if you answered the questions asked of you, and didn't flip-flop on the information you DO give us! :P

At this point, it'd likely be easier to get someone here to log on to your world.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users