Questions about using CC to display 8 Energy cells information

9 replies to this topic

#1 starwind

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 June 2014 - 07:52 PM

Hey there ;)

Im just wondering if there is a way to have computercraft to show the power information of 8 energy cell combined on a monitor?

to make it so i can see how much power i have left without having to go down and clicking on every cell

maybe even getting it to show on those open pheriperal glasses aswell

Altho i'm very new to computercraft and dont really know how to write code, im wondering if this is even possible and if it is, is this something hard to learn to do?

perhaps there even is code upploaded somewhere, ( have been google'ing around abit with no luck )

#2 GamerNebulae

• Members
  • 216 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 23 June 2014 - 09:26 PM

It is possible, yes. It's actually very easy to do that. The problem is the way you want to visualize it. It's going to be very long and if an error occurs and you didn't make it "trial-and-error"-style, then you are going to have a bad time. If you upload some code, I will help you with that. If you want to see what methods are available, put a computer on the side of an energy cell, and type this (please change the side variable to the side the energy cell is on):
peripheral.getMethods(side)
That will print a table and you can pick two of the methods that have a very obvious name to what you wanna do.

#3 starwind

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 June 2014 - 10:03 PM

Yeah have done that

getAdvancedMethodsData
getEnergyStored
getMaxEnergyStored

Problem is its 50 million RF or something in each energy cell, so printing the numbers would be a mess, maybe a bar would be better, but harder to do again i guess

#4 GamerNebulae

• Members
  • 216 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 23 June 2014 - 11:19 PM

I made an API for drawing bars on monitors... If you want it, grab it here on pastebin. Instructions on how to use: