How to get your hands on ComputerCraftEdu

24 replies to this topic

#1 dan200

• Administrators
  • 542 posts
  • LocationCambridge, England

Posted 02 July 2015 - 02:36 PM

Hey everybody!

ComputerCraftEdu is a project I’ve been working on for over two years with TeacherGaming, the people who made MinecraftEdu and are responsible for putting Minecraft into thousands of schools around the world. In the same vein as MinecraftEdu, ComputerCraftEdu is a streamlined version of ComputerCraft designed for use in learning and education, to teach the next generation of programmers how to code. The two main features of the mod are “Beginner’s Turtles” and the “Turtle Remote”, which provide a powerful new visual way to program ComputerCraft Turtles and learn the fundamentals of programming.

ComputerCraftEdu is especially designed for schools using MinecraftEdu, but it’s available to everyone with a PC version of Minecraft. Visit computercraftedu.com to download the mod and watch the trailer. While you're there, check out the provided wiki and tutorial videos to learn more about how the mod plays.

Use this forum to discuss any aspect of ComputerCraftEdu. You may ask for help, post things you've made, share your experiences using CCEdu to teach programming in a class, or whatever else you can think of.

Happy Hacking!

#2 Nokiyen

• Members
  • 53 posts
  • LocationJapan

Posted 02 July 2015 - 03:06 PM

Hi, Dan!

I'm very very VERY happy to hear the new relase of ComputerCraftEdu!
I strongly feel Minecraft and ComputerCraft have high potential as educational tools, because both have simplified interfaces (appearances), but sophisticated complexity, and also many interesting and funy elements. Especially, computer programing are getting more and more important through the world, and many country publicly have introduced the class of programing into their fundamental educations. In this situation, I definitely think that ComputerCraftEdu contributes to children's education.