DumbOS

9 replies to this topic

#1 Scoptile

• Members
  • 36 posts
  • LocationYes. (Location does mean wanted in 12 countries, right?)

Posted 20 July 2015 - 08:04 AM

Discontinued, because it's really bad :P.
Some of the input people had were very valuable, and I learned more about what people want to see in an OS. I might make a new OS someday, but only if I feel it is good enough to make people not hate it.

DumbOS
Current Version: v1.2

Disclaimer: I know this "OS" sucks. Please don't point that out. I'm aware of that. This wasn't even supposed to be public in the first place. It was made for me only, and I put it on the forums, because someone else might be able to use it. Obviously people don't like it, so if you want me to take it down, just say the word. If not, please try to give me advice about how to make it better, rather than telling me why it sucks. That helps nobody. Note that i am not very good at programming, so don't try to make me feel bad for things I might not be able to do, or get wrong. Thank you for listening to this.

DumbOS is a simple text based operating system that I made in an attempt to make creating, running, and managing programs in general easier. I know there are better OS's, and I know this one can't do as much as you might want it to. All you can really do with it so far is create, edit, run, and delete programs.

Ill accept suggestions, but please avoid suggesting the following:
- The ability to have multiple accounts.
- Adding an installer.
These are all either planned, or I just don't want to add them.

I made DumbOS using ComputerCraft 1.6. I'm not certain it will work with older versions. It will most likely work with newer versions, but don't complain to me it if it doesn't.

Installation:

You can install the latest version with this command:
pastebin get wnXCY2v5 startup
Make sure to save it as 'startup'

Changelog:
Spoiler