Foogle Proof Mining Program

turtle utility

17 replies to this topic

#1 Foogles

• Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 27 July 2015 - 10:42 PM

Hello everyone. I am just getting started with computer craft and I love it! I have been refraining from using others shared programs with my turtles so that I can learn more about Lua and Computer Craft. I am also playing in survival, not testing anything in creative! :)

Since I started two days ago, I have written a shaft mining program that suits my purposes very well. It is capable of automatically grabbing lava from the environment while it mines, and using it to refuel itself. It also builds an enclosure filling in any gaps and liquids around the shaft, and replacing ores it mines with cobblestone, so that it can tunnel through water, lava, and caves in such a way that a player can go in behind it without risk of burning or getting blown up. It also has a return function. After it mines a specified shaft length, it will come back and re-orient itself exactly as it was left.

Foogle Proof Mining Program Version 1.3 (pastebin link)
  • mines 1x2 shafts of configurable distances (via command line argument)
  • places inventory in chest underneath starting position when inventory is full
  • places inventory in chest underneath starting position at conclusion of trip
  • keeps bucket and torches in its inventory
  • automatically returns to starting position
  • mines nearby ores within 1 block of the shaft
  • automatically obtains fuel (lava) from the environment
  • creates a safe shaft that a player can walk through
  • replaces adjacent water, lava, and air blocks with cobble to make shaft walls
  • gravel proof: detects whether it was able to move into a spot -- if not, it mines there until it can move. Its count will not be negatively impacted by encountering gravel, and it will remain at the correct height.