Handling Errors?

turtle lua

8 replies to this topic

#1 SkyeLyner

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • LocationHouston Tx

Posted 31 December 2015 - 09:40 AM

So this code is my personal quarry code where it mines 16 rows, moves over one, turns around, then mines 16 rows back. For 16 collums. (16x6 quarry) It is a much more efficient version of the excavate code, and is also programmed to measure whether or not its inventory is full every time it moves a block, and whether or not it needs to refuel. Pretty simple program. Me being a Java programmer I use the "Try Catch" blocks to handle errors and prevent them from crashing my code. But on line (31) when it goes to check the 16th inventory slot, it will sometimes check it as empty and return a "nil" value to the turtle. Therefore crashing my the program.

All I need help with is the correct syntax I should be using to "catch" the error when it checks its inventory. I have searcher far and wide! For the correct syntax I would use in this situation to prevent the error from crashing the turtle. I don't want/need any help with the rest of the code (unless you see an obvious error) I am trying to do most of this on my own. ITS FUN! :) I love programming and most of what I know is self taught and I am taking classes for java. So any help you can provide would be great. (I've been up all night. Its 3:36 AM for christ's sake. would love to get some sleep)

Here is a link to the code (copy pasting it removes all of the spacing and organization)

Pastebin: http://pastebin.com/KpSzh2Rd

Thanks in advance!

Edit: I forgot to put the error code in. Here it is: quarry:31:Expected number

Edited by SkyeLyner, 31 December 2015 - 03:50 PM.

#2 KingofGamesYami

• Members
  • 3,002 posts
  • LocationUnited States of America

Posted 31 December 2015 - 02:48 PM

The closest thing to try catch in lua would be pcall( func, ... ).

In this case, pcall is not useful. Instead, you should use an existance check:

if inventory >= 1 then