Drawing magic

12 replies to this topic

#1 Viking

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 29 January 2016 - 11:01 PM

I wanted to open a topic for talking about speeding up ComputerCraft computer's drawing for more enjoyable applications. I am not an expert, but I have a few samples for you. First of all, sorry for the messy code, but it is meant to be a demonstration, not a software architecture tutorial.

I noticed that the term api has a few incomprehensibly slow functions like setTextColor and setBackgroundColor. If I call these functions everytime before drawing a character on the screen then the display is going to be flickering. I think of something like this:

for y = startY, endY do
	for x = startX, endX do
		local bc = getBc(x, y)
		local tc = getTc(x, y)
		local char = getChar(x, y)
		term.setCursorPos(x, y)
		term.setBackgroundColor(bc)
		term.setTextColor(tc)
		tem.write(char)
	end
end

Number of calls with a 51 * 19 characters large display:

setBackgroundColor : 969 (every case)
setTextColor : 969 (every case)
write : 969 (every case)
setCursorPos : 969 (every case)

Erhmm... that's a lot of function calls per screen draw. Accurately 3876. With 20 FPS, that's 77520 (!!)
We should optimize our application somehow. Maybe with fewer function calls, it would be faster, but how can we achieve such a thing? Perhaps it is unnecessary to draw every pixel. Then that means our screen would have "blank pixels". That wouldn't be good. Oh, not. If the renderer draws a pixel at x, y and at the next draw x,y is the same color, same character then it wouldn't be blank. Wait... It lets us be able to draw only the updated pixels, because the pixel drawn in the previous cycle will be perfect for us. One thing is left. How can the computer remember the previously rendered pixels? Right, we have to store them in a buffer. A pretty simple implementation will do the job now, so we can test our new code:

local buffer = Buffer(51, 19)

-- And this goes inside our update loop.