#1 Piorjade

• Members
  • 244 posts
  • LocationComputer, Germany

Posted 14 December 2017 - 08:22 PM

LUAComputers

(Kind of my own CC2.0 attempt)

INFO:
  • The program is currently made with Love2D, although I might consider converting to Python, C++ (is an option, but I really do not prefer it) or Java. (Python and Lua/Love2D I experienced are very simple to use so I don't really know any reason to switch to Java or even C++)
  • The window has a size of 1600x900 (to make the "pixels" of the terminal visible/big enough) and the terminal has a "size" of 102x38 (basically the double of current ComputerCraft)
  • It still uses that background/foreground drawing system, meaning that these "pixels" are rectangles with a char on top of them
  • There isn't really any functionality other than drawing pixels onto the terminal (and I guess writing too) currently, as I started programming it yesterday
  • I will try to imitate the APIs of ComputerCraft, although I am not completely sure about that yet
  • Networking is planned using UDP sockets (very basic)
Code:
GitHub

SCREENSHOTS:
Spoiler

The code for that program would be practically the same as in actual CC:
term.setCursorPos(3, 4)
term.setBackgroundColor({255, 0, 0})
term.write("Hello ")
term.setForegroundColor({0,0,255})
term.write("W")
term.setForegroundColor({0,0,0})
term.write("o")
term.setForegroundColor({255,255,255})
term.write("r")
term.setForegroundColor({0,255,0})
term.write("l")
term.setForegroundColor({255,255,0})
term.write("d")

--term.set[SOMETHING]Color currently uses a table with the pattern {rrr, ggg, bbb} but there will be a color table later on

I will gladly take suggestions from this (dead) community if there are any! :)