What are these "operating systems" and how do I make one?

18 replies to this topic

#1 helo

• New Members
  • 2 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 06 May 2018 - 05:28 AM

Hi guys, helo here. I've been wondering about these "operating systems" that pop up on the forums, and well, they confuse me a little. What are they, what are their point and well, how do I make one? A note if it helps, I use the latest 1.12 version of ComputerCraft, and I've had little experience with the mod or Lua at all. Thanks! ^-^

#2 Marc1miner

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 May 2018 - 02:36 AM

An operating system is basically the software your computer runs when it boots, like Windows, Linux and Mac.
Their point is to make computers' basic functionality far better and better for use, like a file system where all files that are user created can be found etc.
How to make one is up to you, what functionality do you want your computer to have?

Some things I find useful are:
- Basic login screen, with users and passwords (also adds a challenge how to store them and keep them save, assuming you're doing mp)
- User interface (like files displayed etc.)
- Basic peripheral attachment and detachment

How to start such project.

First of all, what is your knowledge of lua?
Assuming you know the basics you should start by editing the startup file
You can do that as follows
type this in the computer
edit startup

Then as a test you can type for example
print("test")
then save it and it should print test every time you boot your computer

then you can write there whatever you want and it will run when you start your computer
my advice is to use your startup file as a selector, you select from there what you want to run

here a little example of a selector
function main(int)
if int == 1 then
os.run("ex1")
return true
elseif int == 2 then
os.run("ex2")
return true 
else
return false
end
end
while true do
  input = read()
  input = tonumber(input)
  if main(input) == false then