My First Airship [WIP]

10 replies to this topic

#1 nikojoi

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:49 PM

Hey all, I've decided I want to build an Airship to fly me where ever I would like (maybe add a mining arm or weapons later). I have watched a couple youtubers build them and am kind of emulating Direwolf20's design from his season 4 LP.

I want to use Computercraft to control it, but I'm still fairly new to programming and lua. I have an pictures of the ship so far (very early construction), and the code to move it down below. A lot of my code has been lifted from others and then mashed together or modified to suit my needs. I got the menu code from a FunshineX video, and it was super helpful.

Any help, suggestions, or just some moral support would be greatly appreciated !

The basalt stone brick are panels, and the marble stone brick are covers. I just find it easier to keep track of which is which this way.

EDIT : Updated my code to add the up and down functions, also made it clear the terminal when you choose a direction.

EDIT 2: Finally added the engines for the other 5 directions, also added purple lamps for light at night.

EDIT 3: Linked the videos that I got the design of the airship, and the menu coding from. Also hid the code to make the topic prettier. :P/>

Spoiler

#2 NIN3

• New Members
  • 57 posts
  • LocationEverywhere.

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:57 PM

Neat, cant wait to see it when its all built.

#3 jag

• Members
  • 533 posts
  • LocationStockholm, Sweden

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:58 PM

Cool!

#4 kei_k

• New Members
  • 4 posts
  • LocationAuckland, New Zealand

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:59 PM

Im quite exited to see what you're gong to build and the coding is quite messy, maybe i could help you shortening that up a bit and after, can you post up a video clip, that would me much appreciated

#5 ScruffyRules

• Members
  • 98 posts

Posted 11 October 2012 - 09:48 AM

NIN3, on 10 October 2012 - 10:57 PM, said: