Turtle Stripmine Program Help

10 replies to this topic

#1 Adjgamer

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:22 AM

Okay, I'm really new to lua and i was trying to make a stripmining program for my turtle. I want to be able to ask how many cycles I want to run, then run them. I should be able to do that with this:

io.write("Number of Cycles: ")
cycles = io.read()
i = 1
repeat
-- didn't write the program yet so i have print(i)
i = i + 1
until i == cycles

But when I run it, it prints a load of numbers until it crashes. I think that its the the variable type but i don't know how to do that.
Can someone help me make this work?
Thanks in advanced!

#2 Lyqyd

Lua Liquidator

• Moderators
  • 8,465 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:23 AM

Moved to Ask a Pro.

#3 MemoryLeak21

• Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 02:22 PM

If you put one into the input, it's not going to work anyway, because you increase i before you check whether or not it's equal to cycles. Something like this would be more appropriate:

write("Number of cycles: ")
local cycles = io.read()
local i = 1
while i ~= cycles
  print(i)
  i = i + 1
end

I can't really identify the problem, but here's a couple of tips:
  • Always make your variables local unless you want other programs to be able to use them. If you use global variables all the time, you will overload your stack and crash your program.
  • Use read() and write() instead of io.read() and io.write(), respectively. The io API is an alternative to most functions that should only be used in special cases.
  • Unless in special cases, use while or for instead of repeat until. They are normally used for things like this.
See if this code works, and if it doesn't, send a screenshot of your ComputerCraft coding screen and the output screen.

#4 Adjgamer

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 02:57 PM