Help with modem integration into code

2 replies to this topic

#1 Shehab19

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 September 2014 - 04:52 PM

Hey everyone, I am very new to the use of modems but i can do some lua programming in computercraft. i need help making my code work with a modem (tell a computer to do something and it sends the command to a turtle)

basically my code is sort of a delivery system with a turtle. it doesnt do much, it just travels a distance, drops blocks, and returns.

so here it is:

while true do
-- Clear screen
term.clear()
term.setCursorPos(1,1)

print ("Pick an action:")
print ("1) Travel Distance.")
print ("2) Drop items.")
print ("3) Return turtle to starting point.")

-- Option 1: Turtle move distance 5 blocks.
choice = tonumber(read())
if choice == 1 then
tfront = 0
while tfront < 5 do
turtle.forward()
tfront = tfront + 1
end
end
-- Option 2: Drop items
if choice == 2 then
for sslot = 1,9 do
turtle.select(sslot)
for islot = 1,turtle.getItemCount(sslot) do
turtle.drop()
end
end
end
-- Option 3: Return to start
if choice == 3 then
tback = 0
while tback < 5 do
turtle.back()
tback = tback + 1
end
end
end

i would be really greatful if someone could show me how to make with work from a computer giving comands to a wireless turtle. many of the tutorials i've googled havent helped much.
Ty!!

#2 Bomb Bloke

Hobbyist Coder

• Moderators
  • 7,099 posts
  • LocationTasmania (AU)

Posted 24 September 2014 - 11:24 PM

The fun thing about turtle movement calls and rednet reception calls is that they both pull events to work. This makes it "interesting" to use them side by side.

I also recommend reading up on tables before proceeding.

First, consider a very basic pair of scripts:

Controller:
local turtleID = 34 -- Or whatever the turtle's ID number is.

do
	local peripherals = {peripheral.getNames()}                     -- Get all attached peripheral names, stick them in a table.