70 replies to this topic

#61 Bubba

Use Code Tags!

• Moderators
  • 1,142 posts
  • LocationRHIT

Posted 13 February 2013 - 03:16 PM

View Postmailmanq, on 13 February 2013 - 02:18 PM, said:

A true AI should have true error too. Like in a game, it shouldn't be simulated error, but true error that it did something wrong, not a from a chance that it may fake an error, to seem real, or not to make the gane extremely hard.

I am no expert in AI, but this doesn't seem quite right to me. Unless the goal of an AI is to simulate the human brain as closely as possible and NOT to create a superior, infallible logician, then true error would not be a desired trait. And that is not to mention the fact that machines cannot think in any other language than logic, true error wouldn't really be "true error" in the first place: it would be the error of the programmer.

By true error, I am assuming you mean accidental logic errors, so please correct me if I'm wrong.

Edit: Of course, in terms of morals there will always be "true errors" when it comes to artificial intelligence due to the fact that many morals which humans have are not always a rational thing but rather just a "feeling" that you should or should not do certain things. By teaching an AI morals, you might actually be teaching them faulty logic.

One more thing: When it comes to logic, how can we ever be sure that anything is 100% accurate? It may be "logically accurate", but is it "morally accurate"? Has it considered ALL of the data available? (a lack of considered data seems most likely to me the largest reason for non-logical arguments in humans) In short, I don't believe that anything can ever achieve 100% accuracy. With logic, one can just about come to any conclusion they wish depending on what input knowledge you are given to work with, and that is something that AI would struggle with. The possibilities are infinite.