fs.copy Help!

4 replies to this topic

#1 cooperwey

• New Members
  • 1 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:54 AM

Hello Pros, I am in the very, very, very early stages of learning Lua in ComputerCraft. I am trying to make a program that copies a program from the rom folder to a disk. I have prepared only around 7 lines of code, and am having trouble with defining a variable for the disk folder.

I might have explained it wrong but I hope you understand! (And please don't hassle me because I'm very new to this stuff...)

term.clear()
term.setCursorPos(1,1)
write("What's the program you want to copy?")
name = io.read()
disk = fs.isDir("disk")
fs.copy(" name, disk " )

#2 KaBooMa

• New Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:13 AM

So what I think you are attempting here is to set disk to the disk path, and you want to make it so you can type a name to copy from the name, to the disk. If so, this is a very simple problem to solve! You almost got it just a few errors! Lets fix this :)

name = io.read()
Pretty sure that works, but just for notes, you can also use
name = read()
and do the same :)

disk = fs.isDir("disk")
what you got here is a variable called disk and you are setting it to fs.isDir("disk"). If you look at the isDir() function you can see that it return a boolean. So basically you are saying disk is equal to true if disk is a dir, and false if it is not. A easier way of doing this is just saying
if (fs.exists("disk")) then
  -- fs.copy code
end

fs.copy("name, disk")
a bit wrong but like I said, we all have made mistakes :P
you are calling the function fs.copy() and telling it to copy "name,disk" to blank :P What you really need to be doing is telling it to copy the name to the disk. You can do so very easy like so
fs.copy(name,"disk/"..fs.getName(name))
Basically this would do so: If name is "test/file" then it copies file to disk/file! Nice! Lets see this all wrapped up!

term.clear()
term.setCursorPos(1,1)